January Wrap-Up + February TBR

JANUARY WRAP UP —

January was the month of the memoir for me.

I’m taking an English literature course on Autobiography and Memoir this semester so it got me over my reading hump and into the memoirs of very funny ladies.

Bossypants by Tina Fey

Unless you’ve lived under a rock for your entire natural born life, you know who Tina Fey is. This incredibly funny and intelligent woman comes at you from SNL and 30 Rock, and she is just as hilarious on paper as she is on the silver screen. She writes about growing up in Pennsylvania, her improv troop in Chicago, and how she made it in New York City. She writes with pride about the generation of SNL where the women took over, bringing us incredible performers like Amy Poehler, Maya Rudolph, Kristen Wiig, Rachel Dratch and of course, herself. Tina Fey also discusses her own show, 30 Rock, and the trials and tribulations that accompanied both that, and motherhood. It’s a really great read!

I gave it 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

Mindy Kaling is a role model that every girl should look up to. She is strong, passionate, fierce, driven, incredibly intelligent and kind. In her book, she writes about growing up – dealing with weight issues, bullies, making friends, and finding what she loves, her college experience at Dartmouth (where she kicked ass), and trying and failing and trying again to find her footing in New York City. She is an incredible woman and I feel proud to be a fan of hers.

If you can, download the audiobook version because she narrates it herself and it makes you feel like she’s your best friend.

I gave it 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

Diamond Grill by Fred Wah 

The last book I read in January was a book I read for my memoir class. It is a memoir by a Chinese-Canadian who struggles with finding a place where he belongs within society and the communities around him. It is written in a combination of prose poetry and prose fiction, and while the writing style is confusing most of the time, it is a great discussion of the chasms between nationality and race and the issue of “navigating the hyphen”.

I gave it 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken 

I started this book at the beginning of January but didn’t finish it. I found it incredibly slow at the beginning and I pushed myself through to page 225 but I just couldn’t continue. It sent me into a bit of a reading slump, and I’m honestly really surprised that it has such a huge following and fanbase. Maybe the hype surrounding it gave me high expectations…

This month wasn’t a huge reading month for me. After all the reading I did in December, and then my dislike of The Darkest Minds, it took me a while to get back in the swing of things in January. Then, of course, the realities of school kicked back in and I found myself busier and busier. This is why my TBR for February is much more realistic!

FEBRUARY TBR —

Missing Sarah: A Memoir of Loss by Maggie DeVries 

This is another memoir I’m reading for my English Lit class. It’s about a woman who went missing during the time that Robert Pickton was killing women (especially prostitutes) in Vancouver. DeVries writes about her sister Sarah who was adopted to their family as a baby and ended up as a prostitute in Vancouver’s Downtown East Side where she was taken and murdered by Pickton. I’m already a third of the way through and it is a fascinating look at the effects of adoption on children as well as a look at the prostitution culture in Vancouver.

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

I read Attachments in December and fell in love with the characters of course, but especially the writing style so I’m hoping to read my second Rainbow Rowell book this month!

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline 

I’ve heard some really good things about this book and I picked it up after Christmas so I’m looking forward to cracking it open!

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

I’m going to do my best to give this book a second chance this month but I’m not entirely optimistic that I’ll like it any better this time around.

Leave a Reply

