Top 5 Wednesday

Over on YouTube, there is a Top 5 Wednesday family, where a large community of people answer different Top 5s each week. It was started by Lainey (gingerreadslainey) and I’ve been watching a number of the videos every Wednesday so I thought I’d participate over here on my blog!

This week’s Top 5 is Male Protagonists!

I realized while I was trying to make this list that my reading is sorely lacking in strong male protagonists, I just tend to be drawn towards female protagonists. If anyone has any recommendations for books with male leads, please let me know, I’d love to read more!

5. Quentin Jacobsen
[Paper Towns by John Green]

Q is by far my favourite John Green protagonist. He is intelligent, cynical, and inspired my desire to go on a road trip. His loyalty to his friends definitely sold him to me.

4. Henry Skrimshander
[The Art of Fielding]

It’s been a while since I read this book so I’m not entirely clear on what happened, but I remember really admiring Henry’s determination. He has a dream and a goal for his life and he goes through rigorous training to achieve it. He is hopeful and kind and driven.

3. Lincoln O’Neill
[Attachments by Rainbow Rowell]

I fell in love with Lincoln within three pages of the book. He is  kind, he is respectful, and he is intelligent. I have a huge soft spot for him and I always will. I have never been more enthralled reading a character arc that involved a character getting in shape and getting the girl. Normally, that would be considered cliche but Rainbow Rowell created such a likeable character that I was rooting for him from the very beginning.

2. Charlie
[The Perks of Being a Wallflower]

I’m not sure I have ever connected to another character as strongly as I did to Charlie. It’s hard to put it into words because it would involve revealing a lot of really personal things about myself but Charlie and his struggle to fit into a world he doesn’t feel comfortable in, broke my heart into a million pieces. He fought to break out of his shell, small step by small step, and he was fiercely loyal to the people who let him into their lives.

1. Harry Potter
[Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows]

Oddly enough, Harry was not even in my top five favourite male characters in the Harry Potter series, but this is a list for male protagonists and it would be incomplete without one of the most iconic and life changing series’. While he wasn’t my favourite, I did enjoy the arc his character went through from age 11 to age 17. He showed so much grace and courage in every book, standing up to his antagonist and fighting to protect his friends.

Leave a Reply

