Book Haul #2 – 21st Birthday Edition

bday haul 1.jpg

Since my birthday fell on a Tuesday, which unfortunately meant that everyone other than me [hooray for reading week!] was either in work or school, I went book shopping as a gift to myself. I did some major damage and broke my book buying ban in a spectacular fashion but it was my birthday, so I’m using that as an excuse!

I bought myself 10 books & received one as a gift from my lovely sister.
[All of these were purchased from Chapters]

First up, the YA novels.

bday haul 2.jpg

FANGIRL by Rainbow Rowell

I have wanted to pick up Fangirl basically since it came out. I’ve been hearing many many book bloggers and BookTubers raving about it, but was hesitating because it was still in hardcover. Today I walked into the bookstore and saw it on the display case immediately in front of the door and completely caved. I will definitely be picking this book up as soon as I’m done the book I’m in the middle of now!

IT’S KIND OF A FUNNY STORY by Ned Vizzini

This is a book I actually hadn’t heard of until the tragic passing of its author. I have many friends who have read it and absolutely adored it and name it as a book that drastically impacted their lives. Looking forward to reading it.

Next up, some absolutely stunning editions that I found.

bday haul 3.jpg

THE HOBBIT by J.R.R Tolkien

I have yet to read any Tolkien, and I purchased the Lord of the Rings trilogy a couple of months ago; however, many people have told me that I should probably read The Hobbit before the LotR books. I was extremely excited to find this edition because it is absolutely stunning. According to the dust jacket, the cover art reproduces Tolkien’s own dust jacket design for the first edition!

LITTLE WOMEN by Louisa May Alcott

This might be my favourite book in the whole world. I read it for the first time when I was eight and it has stuck with me since then. This is the third edition of the book that I own and it might very well be my favourite. It is the Penguin Threads edition!

bday haul 4.jpg

KING LEAR by William Shakespeare

In preparation for the Shakespearean Literature course I’m going have to take as part of my English major next year, I’ve decided to try and read 10 Shakespeare plays in 2014. King Lear is the first one up! This edition was made by the Modern Library of New York.

THE VIRGIN SUICIDES by Jeffrey Eugenides

I ordered this book online while I was preordering Landline by Rainbow Rowell in order to make my shipping free [total score]. I have wanted to read The Virgin Suicides for years and have avoided watching the movie adaptation thanks to my rule of always reading the book first. I cannot wait to pick it up!

One of my goals in 2014 is to read more classics, so I was extremely excited when I found these beautiful Penguin English Library editions!

book haul 5.jpg

NORTH AND SOUTH by Elizabeth Gaskell

Before delving further into BookTube, I hadn’t even heard of North and South, let alone Elizabeth Gaskell, but after watching multiple videos of multiple BookTubers professing their love, I knew that I had to pick it up! I probably won’t start with this one but it’ll definitely be read sometime this summer.

PRIDE AND PREJUDICE by Jane Austen

I think this is the logical place to start in my classics exploration! I tried to read this book once when I was 13 or 14 [around the same time I read To Kill a Mockingbird and Catcher in the Rye – both of which I need to re-read], but just could not get into the style of writing. I was too young and the language went over my head, so I am definitely excited to try it again, this time as an adult and an English major.

JANE EYRE by Charlotte Bronte

This is a novel I have actually already read. I read it last year for an English literature class, so my copy of it is highlighted and written in and completely battered. I do love it when books look like that because you can tell that it has been well-loved, but I also wanted a more pristine and beautiful looking copies because I absolutely loved the novel. This one was my birthday present from my sister!

NORTHANGER ABBEY by Jane Austen

Yet another Austen book that I’ve had on my list for a while, I just couldn’t pass up the opportunity to buy matching editions!

PERSUASION by Jane Austen

Same goes for Persuasion!

While my bank account is currently very angry at me, I do not regret any of these purchases! However, my book buying ban is definitely back on – which means no more books purchased until May at the earliest!

I know I’m doing this in reverse order but I realized a few days ago that I never did a Christmas haul post, and all the books I received for Christmas are currently at school while I am home for the week – so you can look for that post in the upcoming week [only 7 weeks late…].

As usual, happy reading!

Leave a Reply

