The Goodreads Tag

Screen shot 2014-02-24 at 3.42.37 PM

This is another in a series of tags that I’m taking off of YouTube and answering on my blog! I watched a few of these videos, and some of my favourites are Mercy’s over at MercysBookishMusings, Ashley’s at ClimbTheStacks, and Sanaa’s at InkBonesBooks!

I’m a big Goodreads user so I’m really excited about this tag!


1. What was the last book you marked as ‘read’?

The last book I marked as ‘read’ was Kissing the Witch by Emma Donoghue which I read for my Children’s Literature course. I gave it 4 stars out of 5.

2. What are you currently reading?

According to Goodreads, I’m currently reading The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken, Slaughterhouse-Fiveby Kurt Vonnegut and Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. The latter is the only one I’m actively reading though, the other two are on hold for the moment.

3. What was the last book you marked as ‘TBR’?

The last book I marked as ‘to read’ was The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter. My Children’s Literature course is all about fairytales and folktales, and I am really really enjoying the course so I’ve definitely been on a fairytale kick. My sister and I bought a beautiful edition of the complete works of the Grimm brothers and I will be working my way through that as well!

4. What book do you plan to read next?

I will most likely be picking up Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell after I finish with Ready Player One, but I might pick up The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides instead. Haven’t quite decided yet, it’ll depend what I’m in the mood for!

5. Do you use the star rating system?

I do use the star rating system, but I always supplement them with either a full review or a quick blurb explaining the rating because I find simply the number of stars too arbitrary, it offers no explanation or insight into the book. I’m also extremely stingy with 5-star ratings, I save those for books that I truly love.

6. Are you doing a 2014 Reading Challenge?

I am! This is the first year that I’ve set a reading goal for myself, and I’m really excited about it. I low-balled the number, because I know that I’ll be really busy with school and have textbooks to read for most of the year, but I’m hoping that I’ll surpass my goal of 35 books.

7. Do you have a wishlist?

I do, but it’s more than a mental one. I have a ‘top priority’ bookshelf on Goodreads that I add books to when I know that I want to read them fairly soon, but that’s not necessarily a wishlist.

8. What book do you plan to buy next?

After my extensive book shopping for my birthday, I’m back on a book buying ban, and this time the ban is going to stand until I finish at least half of the unread books sitting on my shelf right now. I currently have 33 books in my TBR pile, so I will let myself buy more books once I’ve completed at least 16!

9. Do you have any favorite quotes, would you like to share a few?

I generally mark favourite quotations in books by underlining them in the text or writing them down in a quote journal that I keep, so I only have two quotes ‘liked’ on Goodreads but those are:

“What a treacherous thing to believe that a person is more than a person,” from Paper Towns by John Green.

“For whatever we lose (like a you or a me),
It’s always our self we find in the sea,” from the poem ‘maggie and milly and molly and may’ by E.E Cummings.

10. Who are your favorite authors?

This question is always really hard for me because I don’t really have favourite authors, I have favourite books. I generally read based on whether I find a book interesting, not on who the author is.

11. Have you joined any groups?

I have joined three groups but I don’t participate in them.

12. Are there any questions you would like to add?

From the books that you mark as TBR, how many of them do you actually find on Goodreads, and how do you find them?

And there we have the Goodreads tag; check out my GR profile here and be my friend!

Leave a Reply

