Top 5 Wednesday

Over on YouTube, there is a Top 5 Wednesday family, where a large community of people answer different Top 5s each week. It was started by Lainey (gingerreadslainey) and I’ve been watching a number of the videos every Wednesday so I thought I’d participate over here on my blog!

This week’s Top 5 is Books I’d Like to See as Movies!

I actually found this week’s list to be really hard. The number of books being turned into movies is definitely on the rise, so a lot of the really good ones have been/are being adapted for the big screen.

5. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

This movie definitely fits into the Romantic Comedy genre! Seeing Lincoln’s love for Beth blossom on the screen would be fantastic. However, it would have to be heavily adapted considering that Beth and Jennifer’s emails aren’t exactly conducive to a visual medium. But despite that, I would love to see it adapted to a movie!

4. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

While I did find the world-building parts of this novel a little tedious [more on that in a review to come], the action parts would definitely translate well to the screen! The whole video game to movie transition seems to be an up and coming trend so I feel like this movie would be a good one!

3. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants [series] by Ann Brashares

Okay, yes, I know that these have technically already been adapted to movies, sort of, and while I absolutely loved the first movie, I hated the second one. I’m not sure who made the decision to combine the last three books into a single movie, but it was not a good one. The casting for these movies was fantastic, and it had so much potential, but I would love for them to have done the last three books justice.

2. The Year of Secret Assignments by Jaclyn Moriarty

While I can’t really explain why I love this book so much, I have re-read it probably 30 or 40 times. There is just something about the characters that I find so endearing and relatable. While the story is told in letter format, I think that it’d translate well to the screen because each letter is told from the perspective of that character and therefore the POV would be portrayed well!

1. A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

The amount of love I have for this series is unreal and I would love to see it made into a movie. Not only does this series have three very strong female characters, but the magic and the world that it takes place in is so beautiful that seeing it on the big screen would be amazing.

Let me know in the comments what movies you’d like to see be adapted into a movie!

Leave a Reply

