A Love Letter to Veronica Mars

The day the Kickstarter campaign for the Veronica Mars movie passed their goal of two million dollars, I sat down to watch the reaction videos from the cast and cried. Real tears. When it closed, $3,702,152 over the goal, I was ecstatic. I cried again watching the trailer, because it was proof that we’d really done it. The fans of a show which had been off the air for seven years just looked Warner Brothers – who shot down the movie multiple times because they believed it wouldn’t have enough support – square in the eyes and said “Screw you.” We made them pay attention to the little cult show and their fandom. We made the world pay attention.

[And yes, I can use ‘we’ in this situation because you bet your ass I contributed to the Kickstarter]

Veronica Mars gave audiences a heroine to be proud of. Where media and network television was (and still is, to some degree) populated with females whose storylines revolve around a love interest, Veronica was intelligent as hell, witty, beautiful, independent and a total badass. She wasn’t afraid to speak her mind, and she remained steadfast in who she was and what she believed, no matter what she went through. She was someone to look up to.

The relationship between Veronica and her father, Keith, remained one of my favourite aspects about the show throughout it’s three season run. They had unconditional love, trust, an overabundance of intelligence between the two of them, and an unbreakable bond. They were fiercely protective of each other and were friends, as well as father and daughter.

Watching a platonic friendship between a female character and a male character develop was also an extremely refreshing phenomenon. Wallace and Veronica’s friendship and bond was never undercut by “sexual tension” or an attempt at a relationship. The relationships or love interests of both Wallace and Veronica flitted in and out of the picture, but no matter what, they were loyal to each other, they cared and protected and loved each other.

This show had everything – amazingly smart and witty writing, fantastic acting, incredibly music selection, well-written and realistic relationships and friendships and palpable chemistry between the actors. The only thing it didn’t have was closure. The CW robbed it of a fitting ending, and as a byproduct, robbed fans of a series finale that tied everything up. Instead, what we were left with was twelve minutes of a hypothetical season four and a whole lot of unresolved questions.

I’m not going to lie, my expectations for this movie are high. I love this series, it means more to me than I can possibly explain. The characters and their stories profoundly impacted me [yes, I realize that sounds ridiculous and cheesy, but it’s true]. But despite my high expectations, I have faith in Rob Thomas, I have faith in the cast – they all worked their asses off to get this movie made, and they never gave up on it, despite multiple setbacks. I trust that they’ve made a movie they feel is true to the series.

I’ll be in line at my local theatre on March 14th for the premiere, marshmellows in hand, ready to re-enter and re-experience the world of Neptune and Veronica Mars.

But let’s be serious, I would happily watch two hours of Kristen Bell, Jason Dohring, Ryan Hansen, Tina Majorino, Percy Daggs III and the rest of the cast sitting in a warehouse, staring at each other.

Leave a Reply

