March Wrap-Up + April TBR

March was somehow an excellent reading month and a terrible reading month. Good in the sense that I read a TON of books for school; however, I picked up (and subsequently put down) four different books this month that I was trying to read for myself. I’m not sure if it was because I just wasn’t picking up the right book for me right now, or if it was because I was burnt out from reading all the texts I’d been assigned, or a combination of the two. But the result was me reading about 200 pages from four different novels, before finally finishing one in a day and a half!

First, the texts I read for my literature courses for University:

Maus I: A Survivor’s Tale; My Father Bleeds History by Art Spiegelman 

This was the first ever graphic novel that I’d read and I really really enjoyed it. It was a struggle at first to teach myself to pay as much attention to the illustrations as the text, but I got the hang of it and ended up loving it!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

****

Maus II: A Survivor’s Tale; And Here My Troubles Began by Art Spiegelman

The second volume to Maus. I also really enjoyed this volume, possibly even more than the first volume. After finishing it, I decided that I’m going to try to read more graphic novels, because it is a lovely medium that I haven’t explored yet.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

****

The Rose and the Beast: Fairy Tales Retold by Francesca Lia Block

This text was a collection of retold fairytales. I didn’t enjoy this collection very much, I found the tales disjointed and a little gimicky in the way it was simply the fairytale, with a lot of drugs and sex tossed in, seemingly for no reason. The tales I did enjoy were ‘Wolf’ and ‘Charm’.

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

****

I Was A Rat by Philip Pullman

I am not a Philip Pullman fan. Let’s get that out in the open right now. I have never enjoyed anything I’ve read by him and this didn’t do anything to change my mind. While the protagonist was endearing at times, the rest of the story did nothing for me. A cute book to read to a young child, but not enough to hold the attention of an adult [read for a Children’s Literature course].

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

****

Clockwork by Philip Pullman

See above comment. Still not a Pullman fan, still not enough to change my mind [read for a Children’s Literature course].

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

****

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

This is the last book I read for my Children’s Literature class. I enjoyed this one a lot. It was the first Neil Gaiman that I’d ever read and it definitely lived up to expectations. The writing was creepy and eerie and Coraline was a brave and smart little girl.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

****

The World Is Moving Around Me by Dany Laferriere

This is a text that I did not enjoy upon initial reading, but after talking about it in class with my professor and classmates, I understood it a little better and ended up liking it a lot more. It’s an account of the Haiti earthquake written by a Canadian-Haitian, and is a well-written memoir told in the form of short essays.

Rating: 3 out of 5

 

Now, although I powered through 7 texts for class, I was incapable of following through with any text I picked up to read for myself, until the Veronica Mars book. I started and promptly put down, The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen [apparently wasn’t in the mood for contemporary YA],It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini [put this one down for personal reasons, not because I wasn’t enjoying it], and Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen [thanks to all of the my course reading I wasn’t mentally prepared for a classic].

Finally, I received the Veronica Mars book in the mail and managed to power through it in less than 24 hours!

 

Veronica Mars: The Thousand Dollar Tan Line

I have some conflicted feelings about this book, but I’m not going to say too much about it as I plan to have a VMars Book/Movie review out in the coming week!

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

 

Since I had so much trouble following through with the books I chose for myself, I’ve decided not to write an April TBR and just pick up the books I feel like reading. Also, I will be in the throes of finals and may not have much time for reading at all! I am however hoping to finally read Allegiant by Veronica Roth fairly soon.

As always, happy reading!

Leave a Reply

