Fox

Here are my first impressions of Fox’s fall slate of new shows!


These are the shows I’ll be checking out in the 2014 – 2015 TV Season: 

Red Band Society 
Wednesdays at 9pm

  • SYNOPSIS: A group of teenagers become a group of unlikely allies and friends when they meet as patients in the children’s wing of a hospital.
  • FIRST IMPRESSIONS: Out of all the new Fox shows, this is the one I’m most excited about. The collection of characters look diverse and interesting – appearance, personality, and ethnicity-wise – and I feel like, if done well, the dynamics between the characters will be really awesome.
  • Trailer [x]

Gotham
Mondays at 8pm

  • SYNOPSIS: A prequel to the Batman franchise, this series follows Jim Gordon, how he meets Bruce Wayne and the life of the city before the villains made it famous.
  • FIRST IMPRESSIONS: I must admit, I haven’t at all gotten in to the Superhero frenzy that seems to have taken over both TV and movies lately (I still have not watched any of the Marvel movies – I know, I know) but I have watched the Christian Bale Batman movies and enjoyed them, I’ve been a fan of Ben Mackenzie’s since his ‘The OC’ days, and I’m a sucker for origin stories.
  • Trailer [x]

Backstrom
Midseason

  • SYNOPSIS: Detective Everett Backstrom is an offensive, angry, self-destructive detective who continually attempts, and ultimately fails, to change while leading the Serious Crimes Unit as they investigate some of Portland’s most sensitive cases.
  • FIRST IMPRESSIONS: Rainn Wilson. Kristoffer Polaha. Those two names alone would get me to watch anything, but the fact that Wilson plays a gruff, pain-in-the-ass, intelligent detective definitely seals the deal. This show promises to be everything House was in its first couple of seasons, and I’m excited about it.
  • Trailer [x]

Wayward Pines
Midseason

  • SYNOPSIS: Another 10-episode “event” that follows a Secret Service agent as he strives to find two missing federal agents in the town of Wayward Pines, ID. Every new piece of the puzzle seems to uncover more questions, and makes him question whether he’ll find a way to get out of Wayward Pines alive.
  • FIRST IMPRESSIONS: Super creepy. From the music selection to the scenery to the cinematography, there are so many elements of this trailer that showcase how eerie and creepy the  series will be.
  • Trailer [x]

Last Man On Earth 
Midseason

  • SYNOPSIS:  A single-camera comedy about the life and adventures of Phil Miller, the last man on earth.
  • FIRST IMPRESSIONS: I’m a huge fan of Will Forte’s from his SNL days. I’m intrigued by the premise, and definitely curious as to how they plan to sustain a comedy with, as far as I can tell, one character.
  • Trailer [x]

Gracepoint
Thursdays at 9pm

  • SYNOPSIS: This 10 episode “event” chronicles the aftermath of a young boy’s death in a small seaside town, including the police investigation and the media response.
  • FIRST IMPRESSIONS: I’ve heard that this show is the American remake of Broadchurch (curiously starring the same actor as the British version, in the same row, just with an American accent). I never watched Broadchurch, so that hasn’t sullied my impression of Gracepoint, however I’m not sure how engaging it will be outside the first 2 or 3 episodes. However, I appreciate the 10-episode format, making it more of a mini-series than a television series. I’m definitely willing to give it a chance. I’ll be watching the first two episodes at the very least.
  • Trailer [x]

Empire
Midseason

  • SYNOPSIS: A family drama that centers on Lucious Lyon, a music mogul in the world of hip-hop.
  • FIRST IMPRESSIONS: I love the diversity of cast and the gritty setting of the music industry but I feel like the premise would make a better movie than a TV series. I’ll watch the pilot. After that, who knows?
  • Trailer [x]

These are the shows I’ll be passing on:  Mulaney (Sundays at 9:30pm), Hieroglyph (Midseason), Bordertown (Midseason), Weird Loners (Midseason)

[GO BACK]

Leave a Reply

