Top 5 Wednesday

Over on YouTube, there is a Top 5 Wednesday family, where a large community of people answer different Top 5s each week. It was started by Lainey (gingerreadslainey) and I’ve been watching a number of the videos every Wednesday so I thought I’d participate over here on my blog!

This week’s Top 5 is characters I wish I was more like!

I also decided that any time there’s a good crossover Top5W topic, I’m going to answer it for books as well as television shows! This is one of them!


BOOKS —  

5. Wendy Foxman
This Is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper

Wendy is blunt and straightforward, something I struggle with on a daily basis. She can definitely be abrasive and off-putting, but she doesn’t let people beat around the bush or walk all over her, and that is a characteristic I wish I had more of.

4. Gemma Doyle
The Gemma Doyle Trilogy by Libba Bray

First of all, I admire her close friendship with Ann, Felicity and Pippa. They had their problems, but they were a group of interesting, complex, flawed, awesome female characters. Gemma was smart and strong and principled.

3. Luna Lovegood
The Harry Potter series by JK Rowling

Anyone who is unfailingly themselves deserves praise, and Luna is 100% one of those people. Throughout the series, she is unapologetic in her uniqueness, never conforming to other people’s idea of ‘normal’.

2. Remy Starr
This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen

Remy is another character with a straightforwardness and a directness that is both frightening and impressive. She is goal-oriented (which I also am) but she goes to great lengths and works her ass off to achieve her goals (aka. getting into Stanford). She also has the courage to do what I couldn’t, move away from home after graduation.

1. Jane Eyre
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

When I read this novel for my University course, I was immediately taken with Jane Eyre. Her strength and intelligence is unparalleled – especially for the time period in which it was written and set. I wish I had her grace and her steadfastness.

Bonus: Mindy Kaling
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

Not technically a character, but Mindy Kaling is an incredible person and her memoir just reaffirmed and intensified my love for her. She is incredibly intelligent (a Dartmouth graduate), talented (actor, writer, director, producer), funny, beautiful and secure in herself and her personality. She is definitely a source of inspiration for me.


TV — 

5. Leslie Knope

I’m only part way through the second season of Parks and Rec but I am already envious of Leslie’s optimism. She refuses to be disillusioned or jaded and it is a beautiful thing to watch. She’s so full of hope and love for her job and what she does. It’s something to admire.

4. Fiona Gallagher

Fiona’s strength is something to behold. She knows what she has to do to survive and she does everything in her power to care for her family. She is flawed and complicated and breaks down sometimes, but she always picks herself back up and tries to redeem herself. Her strength in the face of everything she has had to overcome is incredible, and the amount of love that exists between the Gallagher siblings is my favourite thing about the show.

3. Mindy Lahiri

There is an obvious theme of strong, awesome, intelligent and beautiful women on this list, and Mindy is no exception. Mindy, like Leslie, is also an optimist. Despite numerous, numerous, failed relationships and horrible dates, Mindy remains a romantic. She doesn’t lose faith that she’ll be able to find someone, and she doesn’t compromise herself for men. She speaks her mind and is quirky and eccentric and wonderful.

2. Cristina Yang

While Cristina Yang’s work ethic is incredible, it is not the aspect of her character I envy most. It’s her incredible confidence – in her intelligence, her abilities, her appearance – that I wish I had even 1/8 of.

1. Veronica Mars

Veronica is the embodiment of all the other characteristics that I admire in others. She is intelligent, hard-working, witty, beautiful, hilarious, talented, badass, loving, compassionate, strong-willed, resilient, loyal and so much more. This show and this character impacted me in a way that I’m not sure any others have before or since.

Bonus: Alicia Florrick/Jessica Pearson

Strong, badass, well-dressed professionals. Need I say more?

 

Leave a Reply

