Top 10 Tuesday

I usually participate in Top 5 Wednesday, however, this week’s topic [Top 5 Naked Cover Books] is one that I can’t do due to the fact that half my books are at my apartment out at school and half are at home, so instead I decided to participate in this week’s Top 10 Tuesday, which was started and is facilitated by the lovely girls over at The Broke and The Bookish!

This week’s topic is ‘Top Ten Books On My Summer TBR list‘, so in no particular order:

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides: This is a book that I’ve had sitting on my shelf for almost a year. I tried to pick it up multiple times during the school year but found that I was too burnt out from my Literature course to pick up a true literary novel in my spare time. I’m excited to read it now that I have time off for summer!

On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King: This is another book I’ve had sitting on my shelf for over a year now. I keep meaning to read it, but I wanted to do it when I had time to take a highlighter and tabs to it, in order to truly get the most out the writing advice.

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt: I recently read ‘The Secret History’ and absolutely loved it, so I’m definitely looking forward to reading Tartt’s Pulitzer Prize winning novel!

More Than This by Patrick Ness: I got this book for Christmas this year and just haven’t been able to get around to it! The cover is really awesome and it’ll be first Patrick Ness book!

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell: My plan is to get into more of the classics this summer, I have a stack of Austen and Bronte and Woolfe to dig in to, but this Gaskell book is one that I’ve heard lots about and is the classic I’m most excited to read.

The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien: I utterly failed in my bet with my best friend to read the LotR trilogy over winter break, but I’ve been told that it’s best to read ‘The Hobbit’ first anyway, so that’s what I’ll be doing!

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart: Thanks to all the hype surrounding this book, I’m torn on wanting to read it. I read/watched many reviews before it was released that absolutely praised it, but since it’s release I’ve also read many that say it doesn’t live up to the hype. I hope it’ll be as great as I imagine, but I’m also prepared to be disappointed.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han: I don’t know much about this book other than it’s written by the author of ‘The Summer I Turned Pretty’ trilogy! However, I recently read ‘Burn for Burn’ and did not enjoy it all, so I’m hoping that this will go much better than that did!

The Circle by Dave Eggers: I received this book as a Christmas present from my best friend and I’m excited to get to it! Also, the cover is beautiful.

Allegiant by Veronica Roth: I have been putting off reading the last book in the Divergent trilogy for months. I have managed to stay spoiler-free, but I do know that it ends in a way that is very divisive, people either really enjoy/respect it, or they hate it. I have no idea what camp I’ll be in, but I’ve been putting it off because I’m nervous to find out.

Hope everyone had a good Tuesday, and as always, happy reading!

 

Leave a Reply

