June Wrap-Up + July TBR

In June, I settled into my summer routine and ended up finding plenty of time to read. That, plus going on vacation meant I powered through a solid number of novels.


June Wrap-Up:

  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn | 3/5

I’ll be writing a mass review of all of Gillian Flynn’s novels sometime soon so I won’t say much about this now but I did not enjoy it very much, and definitely not as much as her other novels. However, it was decent read and I finished it fairly quickly.

  • The One and Only by Emily Giffin | 2/5

I had some major issues with this novel. My review can be found here.

  • We Were Liars by E. Lockhart | 2.5/5

This novel had a TON of hype surrounding it, and in my opinion, it did not live up to the it. The twist that had been touted as such a huge, incredible one ended up being disappointing. But on the positive side, I did enjoy the different writing style and I appreciated the characters.

  • The Book of Joe by Jonathan Tropper | 4/5

I really, really enjoy Jonathan Tropper. This is the second novel of his that I’ve read and he has a way of writing dry, sarcastic humour that is right up my alley. Thoroughly enjoyed this novel.

  • Landline by Rainbow Rowell | 5/5

I fell in love with this book really, really fast. I haven’t connected as quickly or as completely to a character as I did to Georgie in a long, long time. Rainbow Rowell has a knack of writing believable love stories and incredibly flawed, complicated and relatable characters. Landline is now without a doubt my favourite Rainbow Rowell book and my favourite book of 2014 so far.

  • Plan B by Jonathan Tropper | 3/5

You could absolutely tell that this was Tropper’s first novel. The language was much more flowery and unnecessarily complicated than his later novels, the narrative was fairly unfocused and the characters were a lot fuzzier/not as well formed as in his later novels. While I didn’t enjoy it nearly as much as his others that I’ve read, it was interesting to see where he started from.


 

July TBR:

  • How To Talk To A Widower by Jonathan Tropper
  • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
  • More Than This by Patrick Ness
  • The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
Leave a Reply

